• Join
  • Contact


CUHMA Awards Program History

The awards program was inaugurated in 2011 when the organization was first formed as the Canadian Chapter of the Undersea and Hyperbaric Medical Society. Our goal is to recognize Canadian contributions in the fields of hyperbaric and diving medicine, notably related to safety, research, and clinical care.

Awards need not be given out every year.

Michael Lepawsky Award

Ken LeDez, presenting the first Michael Lepawsky Award to Michael Lepawsky, October 20, 2011, with George Harpur and Ron Nishi

Michael Lepawsky's Bio

Ron Nishi Award

Ron Linden, presenting the first Ron Nishi Award to Ron Nishi, October 17, 2012

Ron Nishi's Bio

Jim Wilson Award

Jim Wilson with the first James H. Wilson Award, with Ron Linden and Bill Bateman, October 15, 2011.

Jim Wilson's Bio

Dr. Michael Lepawsky Award

Recognizing a physician demonstrating leadership and excellence in hyperbaric medicine in Canada.

2011 Dr. Michael Lepawsky
2012 Dr. Helge Koch
2013 Dr. George Harpur
2014 Dr. David Harrison
2018 Dr. Mario Côté
2019 Dr. Ken LeDez

Ron Nishi Award

Recognizing outstanding contributions to research and science related to diving and diving safety.

2012 Mr. Ron Nishi
2014 Dr. Bruce Cameron

James H. (Tug) Wilson Award

Recognizing outstanding contributions to hyperbaric and/or diving safety by an associate member

2011 Mr. James Wilson
2014 Mr. Martin Necpal
2015 Mr. Jocelyn Boisvert
2017 Mr. Paul Doherty
2019 Ms. Sherri Ferguson


Special Recognition for Service Award

Recognizing outstanding contributions to the organization and community.

2012 Dr. Brian Egier 1st Director, Hyperbaric Unit, Hamilton Health Sciences
2012 Dr. Ken Ledez 1st President, CC-UHMS, 2010-2012
2012 Mr. Jocelyn Boisvert 1st Secretary, CC-UHMS
2013 Ms. Sherri Ferguson 1st Treasurer, CC-UHMS
2016 Mr. Richard Johnson 1st Treasurer and Webmaster, CUHMA


Best Scientific Abstract Presentation Award

Recognizing the best scientific abstract presented at the CUHMA annual scientific meeting (taking into consideration both scientific merit and the quality of the presentation). The award includes a complimentary one-year CUHMA membership.

2021 Adele Khavari, PhD; Michael Smith Laboratory, University of British Columbia.